Skip To Content

Municipal Internship Program

  • Municipal Internship Program
  • Municipal Internship Program
  • Municipal Internship Program
  • Municipal Internship Program.

Thinking about a career in Municipal Government? Are you passionate about public service? Want to help build your community?

The Municipal Internship Program is offered by Alberta Municipal Affairs to help build the management capacity of Alberta’s municipal governments. By supporting municipalities and planning service agencies to host interns, and recruiting recent post-secondary graduates interested in a career in municipal administration, finance or land use planning, the Municipal Internship Program aims to train and develop well-rounded future leaders for the province’s municipalities. Municipal government is a dynamic and complex field with extensive and varied career opportunities! Is this where you belong? Read on to find out more!

Intern Alumni Testimonials

Thinking about applying to be an intern?

Thinking about applying to host an intern?

News & Events


2019 Municipal Internship Program

Applications for the 2019 Municipal Internship Program will open on December 1, 2018 and will be accepted by email until January 31, 2019 at 12:00 noon Mountain Standard Time. Internships will start in May 2019. Please see the How to Apply page for details.




2019 Municipal Internship Program

Invitations to apply to participate in the 2019 Internship Program were sent to all municipalities and planning agencies in early July 2018. The application deadline is September 1, 2018. There will be 15 positions available. Interested in applying?  Go to the How Do I Apply page.


Hosts in the 2018 Internship Program:

  • City of Leduc
  • County of St. Paul
  • County of Wetaskiwin
  • Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board/Town of Devon
  • Mackenzie County
  • Municipal District of Greenview
  • Municipal District of Smoky River
  • Northern Sunrise County
  • Town of Beaumont
  • Town of Canmore
  • Town of Cochrane
  • Town of Edson
  • Town of High River
  • Town of Magrath
  • Town of Ponoka
  • Town of Stony Plain