O.C. 601-56

THE NEW TOWNS ACT

Approved and Ordered,

JOHN J. BOWLEN,

Lieutenant Governor.

FORMATION OF THE TOWN OF DRAYTON VALLEY

Edmonton, Wednesday, May 9, 1956.

The Executive Council has had under consideration the report of the Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs, dated May 3rd, 1956, stating that:

Whereas the Official Administrator of the Village of Drayton Valley, pursuant to section 4 of The New Towns Act, being chapter 39 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1956, has made application to the Provincial Planning Advisory Board for the establishment of that village as a new town; and Whereas the Provincial Planning Advisory Board, having considered the application, recommends that the application be approved;

Therefore, upon the recommendation of the Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs, the Executive Council advises that, pursuant to the provisions of sections 3 and 5 of The New Towns Act:

1. The Village of Drayton Valley be and is hereby declared to be a new town.

2. The boundaries of the new Town of Drayton Valley be more particularly described as follows:

Commencing at the point of intersection of the north boundary of legal subdivision 9, in section 17 with the south-easterly boundary of the road registered under Road Plan No. 2502 J.Y.

Thence south-westerly along the south-easterly boundary of said road to its intersection with the south boundary of legal subdivision 13 in section 8,

Thence east along the south boundaries of legal subdivisions 13 and 14 to the west boundary of the north-east guarter of section 8,

Thence south along the said west boundary to the south-west corner of the said north-east quarter of section 8,

Thence east along the south boundaries of the north-east quarter of section 8 and the north-west quarter of section 9 to the southeast corner of the north-west quarter of section 9,

Thence north along the east boundaries of the said north-west quarter of section 9, the south-west quarter of section 16 and legal subdivision 11 in section 16 to the north-east corner of the said legal subdivision 11,

Thence west along the north boundaries of legal subdivisions 11 and 12 in section 16 and legal subdivision 9 in section 17 to the point of commencement,

All of the above lands being in township 49, range 7, west of the fifth meridian.

3. The establishment of the new Town of Drayton Valley shall be effective as, on and from the first day of June, 1956.

4. W. D. Isbister, Assistant Chief Municipal Inspector and Official Administrator of the Village of Drayton Valley, be and is hereby named as the Board of Administrators of the new Town of Drayton Valley and appointed Chairman of the said Board.

ERNEST C. MANNING (Chairman).